Latin Grammys 2017 Performers

The 2017 Latin Grammys air tonight at 8 p.m. ET/PT and 7 p.m. CT on the Univision network, with an additional showing immediately following at 11 p.m. ET/PT and 10 p.m. CT. Roselyn Sanchez and Jaime Camil are this year’s show hosts and there is a huge lineup of performers. According to the Latin Times, the performers are Steve Aoki, Bad Bunny, J Balvin, Rubén Blades, Diplo, Víctor Manuelle, Carlos Rivera, Bomba Estéreo, Alejandro Fernández, Los Macorinos, Bronco, Alessia Cara, CNCO, Lila Downs, Luis Fonsi, Ha*Ash, Nicky Jam, Juanes, Mon Laferte, Natalia Lafourcade, Banda el Recodo de Cruz Lizárraga, Logic, Maluma, Lin Manuel Miranda, Vicente García, Mau y Ricky, Sofia Reyes, Danay Suarez, French Montana, Residente, Sofía Reyes, Alejandro Sanz, Flor de Toloache, Carlos Vives, and Sebastián Yatra. Some of the performers will participate in collaborative performances.

When it comes to collaborations, Juanes is performing with Logic and Alessia Cara. Carlos Vives is teaming up with Sebastián Yatra. J Balvin will take the stage with Bad Bunny, Steve Aoki and French Montana. Bronco and Ha*Ash will perform together and Lila Downs teams up with Banda el Recodo de Cruz Lizárraga. Vicente García, Mau y Ricky, Sofia Reyes, and Danay Suarez will all participate in a Best New Artist segment of the show.

Residente, who is one of tonight’s performers, is also the lead nominee this year, with nine nominations total. As for what Residente has in store for his Latin Grammys performance, he didn’t want to reveal to much. All he had to say about what to expect to the Washington Post was this, “I just wanna do my best and I wanna enjoy it too. For me that’s the most important thing, to perform there and to bring something different to the table.” Earlier this month, Residente didn’t have the Latin Grammys on his mind as he was busy helping out those suffering in Puerto Rico. In an interview with Billboard, he talked about his efforts in Puerto Rico, saying that, “I’m helping monetarily, and by bringing food and water to communities that need it most. I wanted to go alone, without any big coalitions or press releases, because the way I understand it is anyone who wants to help their own country, there’s no need to make an announcement of it. You just do it. That’s what I’ve done, and that’s what I’m still doing.”

Boy band CNCO is another performer taking the stage tonight. They were formed via a reality show, according to Billboard, and the members include Christopher Vélez, Richard Camacho, Joel Pimentel, Erick Brian Colón and Zabdiel de Jesús. At tonight’s awards show, entertainer Lin-Manuel Miranda is taking home the Latin Recording Academy President’s Merit Award. Gabriel Abaroa Jr., the President/CEO of The Latin Recording Academy, talked about the choice to honor Miranda in a statement to the media. Abaroa explained that, “Lin-Manuel’s urban and social poetry have provided strength and encouragement to every Latino motivated to get ahead. He has brought pride to our community by reminding us of the resilience and fortitude we demonstrate on a daily basis.”

No Comments

Discuss on Facebook