Ballon D’Or Winners: Men’s, Women’s & Best Goal

Ballon D'Or winners, Ballon D'Or messi, Ballon D'Or neymar, Ballon D'Or ronaldo, Ballon D'Or womens, Ballon D'Or anounced


The greatest awards show in FIFA is live from Zurich on Monday, as the world’s best from the world’s game are honored. Lionel Messi was crowned the world’s greatest men’s player, getting the nod over Neymar and Cristiano Ronaldo. It is Messi’s fifth Ballon D’Or. American soccer were the biggest winners tonight, as Carli Lloyd and Jill Ellis were both winners in their respective categories.

Twitter went bananas earlier in the week, when it had appeared that FIFA leaked the results for tonight on their website. A “recent winners” table showed Lionel Messi as the men’s winner, and Célia Šašić for the women winning for 2015.

Later in the week, FIFA dismissed the leak. Their response was that Messi and Sasic were the winners of UEFA Best European Player 2015, and that the release was a mistake.

The show was hosted by Sky Sports talent Kate Abdo, who will use her multilingual abilities to seamlessly navigate the ceremony.

Here are the nominees, with winners in bold:

Ballon D’Or: Messi, Neymar, Cristiano Ronaldo

Women’s: Aya Miyama, Carli Lloyd, Célia Šašić

Puskas Goal of the Year: Alessandro Florenzi, Wendell Lira, Messi

Manager of the Year: Luis Enrique, Pep Guardiola, Jorge Sampaoli

Women’s: Jill Ellis, Mark Sampson, Norio Sasaki

Read more about the winners in Spanish at

Read More