Daytona 500 Starting Lineup for 2016 Race

Chase Elliot Wins Pole Position – Daytona 500 – 2016 NASCAR Sprint CupNASCAR: Chase Elliott beats out Matt Kenseth to become the youngest Daytona 500 pole winner in series history. #FOXSports SUBSCRIBE to get the latest FOX Sports content: ▶First Things First's YouTube channel: ►UNDISPUTED’s YouTube channel: ▶The Herd with Colin Cowherd’s YouTube channel: ▶Speak For Yourself's YouTube Channel: ►UFC on FOX’s…2016-02-14T20:01:24Z

The NASCAR Sprint Cup series kicks off the 2016 season today at Daytona. The Daytona 500 begins at 1:30 p.m. ET, and FOX will have the live broadcast.

Chase Elliott is off to a great start for his rookie season in the Sprint Cup series. Elliott won the pole position in qualifying for the 500. He takes over the number 24 car this season that Jeff Gordon made famous.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start in third position and hopes to build off his Can-Am Duel victory just a few days ago. This week marked the 15th anniversary of the death of his father, Dale Earnhardt, at Daytona. A win on Sunday would be special for multiple reasons.

Matt Kenseth technically starts in second position but will be using a backup car after his involvement in a crash during the Can-Am Duel. He will move to the back of the pack once the race starts.

Here’s a look at the starting lineup for the 2016 Daytona 500 according to NASCAR:

1. 24 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
2. 20 Matt Kenseth Joe Gibbs Racing
3. 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Hendrick Motorsports
4. 18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
5. 22 Joey Logano Team Penske
6. 1 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing
7. 21 Ryan Blaney Wood Brothers Racing
8. 41 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing
9. 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing
10. 19 Carl Edwards Joe Gibbs Racing
11. 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
12. 95 Ty Dillon Circle Sport-Leavine Family Racing
13. 5 Kasey Kahne Hendrick Motorsports
14. 42 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing
15. 16 Greg Biffle Roush Fenway Racing
16. 10 Danica Patrick Stewart-Haas Racing
17. 34 Chris Buescher Front Row Motorsports
18. 14 Brian Vickers Stewart-Haas Racing
19. 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing
20. 93 Matt DiBenedetto BK Racing
21. 3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing
22. 46 Michael Annett HScott Motorsports
23. 6 Trevor Bayne Roush Fenway Racing
24. 38 Landon Cassill Front Row Motorsports
25. 2 Brad Keselowski Team Penske
26. 48 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports
27. 7 Regan Smith Tommy Baldwin Racing
28. 78 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing
29. 23 David Ragan BK Racing
30. 47 AJ Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing
31. 15 Clint Bowyer HScott Motorsports
32. 13 Casey Mears Germain Racing
33. 32 Bobby Labonte Go Green Racing
34. 43 Aric Almirola Richard Petty Motorsports
35. 44 Brian Scott Richard Petty Motorsports
36. 83 Michael Waltrip BK Racing
37. 27 Paul Menard Richard Childress Racing
38. 31 Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing
39. 59 Michael McDowell Circle Sport-Leavine Family Racing
40. 26 Robert Richardson Jr. BK Racing

Comment Here
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x