Who Won the 2015 Gold Cup?

Mexico is the 2015 Gold Cup Champions. (Getty)

Mexico is the 2015 Gold Cup Champions. (Getty)

Mexico dominated the 2015 Gold Cup final against Jamaica from start to finish. They won 3-1 to become Gold Cup champions. Despite not winning Group C, they still continued on in the tournament. They received some fortunate calls in their semi-final match against Panama. CONCACAF later released a statement admitting the official made a mistake.

The final match was free from controversy as Mexico imposed their will against Jamaica early and often. The victory not only gives Mexico the 2015 Gold Cup but it also sends them to a playoff against the United States for the right to represent CONCACAF in the 2017 Confederations Cup.

The match will take place on October 9, 2015 at an undisclosed location. The game will function as a one game playoff where the winner will head to Russia to represent CONCACAF.

The Confederations Cup is a tournament that takes place the year before the World Cup at the host country. Since the 2018 World Cup takes place in Russia the Confederations Cup will also take place in Russia. The tournament will feature 8 teams from around the world.

Read More
Comment Here
Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x