Trump at Mount Rushmore Live Stream: Watch the Fireworks Event Online

Trump Mount Rushmore Event

Getty Trump Mount Rushmore Event

President Donald Trump is attending and speaking at a big pre-Fourth of July fireworks show at Mount Rushmore tonight. The event runs from 4-10 p.m. MST (5-11 p.m. Central/6 p.m.-12 a.m. Eastern), with the fireworks happening at approximately 9:30-9:45 p.m. MST tonight. If you’re interested in watching a live stream of the event, we have multiple videos below where you can watch Trump and the fireworks online.


Here Are Multiple Live Streams of Trump at Mount Rushmore

If you want to make sure that you don’t miss anything, including Trump’s speech, then you’ll likely want to start tuning in around 6 p.m. Eastern/5 p.m. Central/4 p.m. Mountain/3 p.m. Pacific. That way, even if the part you want to watch starts later, you won’t miss anything. The event goes on until 12 a.m. Eastern (10 p.m. MST.)

The first live stream you can watch below is the official live stream from Mount Rushmore’s website. That video autoplays when embedded, but PBS News Hour is showing the same stream below.

WATCH LIVE: Trump holds July 4 celebration at Mt. RushmoreStream your PBS favorites with the PBS app: to.pbs.org/2Jb8twG Find more from PBS NewsHour at pbs.org/newshour Subscribe to our YouTube channel: bit.ly/2HfsCD6 Follow us: Facebook: pbs.org/newshour Twitter: twitter.com/newshour Instagram: instagram.com/newshour Snapchat: @pbsnews Subscribe: PBS NewsHour podcasts: pbs.org/newshour/podcasts Newsletters: pbs.org/newshour/subscribe2020-07-03T13:56:27Z

Next is a live stream from Fox 10 Phoenix that starts a little later.

LIVE: President Trump South Dakota’s 2020 Mount Rushmore Fireworks Celebrations2020-07-03T20:36:54Z

Bloomberg News also has a live stream below that is already live.

LIVE: Trump Hosts Mask-Optional 2020 Mount Rushmore Independence Day Fireworks in South DakotaDonald Trump heads to Mount Rushmore Friday for an early Independence Day celebration with thousands of guests who won’t be required to wear masks or socially distance, as the president continues an aggressive public schedule despite a spike in U.S. coronavirus cases. Friday’s show will feature a military flyover and the first fireworks in more…2020-07-03T19:04:35Z

 


Some Activists Are Protesting the Event Today

A number of Native American activists are protesting the event. You can watch those protests live in the video below. Nick Tilsen, a member of the Oglala Lakota tribe and the president of NDN Collective, told The Hill: “Mount Rushmore is a symbol of white supremacy, of structural racism that’s still alive and well in society today. It’s an injustice to actively steal Indigenous people’s land then carve the white faces of the conquerors who committed genocide.”

[LIVE] Indigenous Activists Assert Right to Unceded Land At Anti-Trump ProtestIn the 1920s, South Dakota historian Doane Robinson hired sculptor Gutzon Borglum to construct a national monument to promote tourism in the state. Gutzon was a member of the Ku Klux Klan, and had recently helped construct a memorial to Confederate leaders in the state of Georgia. Some of the funding for the Mount Rushmore…2020-07-03T20:56:13Z


Attendance Was Limited to a Lottery of 7,500

Actual attendance to this event was limited to a lottery that closed on Monday night, June 8. So only 7,500 people will be there with tickets. Mount Rushmore is closed to the general public today because of the event and reopens tomorrow at 5 a.m. Mountain time.

Masks also aren’t required, although they will be available for anyone who wants them. The website reads:

Please take personal responsibility seriously when attending this event. We encourage everyone to follow CDC guidelines, especially those in the vulnerable category. We are looking forward to a safe and successful event.

Social distancing also will not be required, WTVM reported. Tickets weren’t reduced because of the pandemic. People without tickets can still gather outside the monument grounds and watch, South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem told WTVM.

Noem said the focus was on personal responsibility, so masks and distancing won’t be required, Business Insider reported.

This is the first time we’ve seen a fireworks show at Mount Rushmore since 2009. Back then, it was stopped because an infestation by the pine beetle caused a fire hazard. The National Park Service said that an environmental assessment showed there was no significant impact.

Trump is planning another event for July 4 in Washington, D.C. called Salute to America, U.S. News & World Report reported. This will include a mile-long firing of 10,000 fireworks and more.

Salute to America will include fireworks, Blue Angels and Thunderbirds flyovers, and more. Trump and Melania Trump will host the event from the South Lawn of the White House and Ellipse. The National Mall and other areas will be open to the public for viewing.

READ NEXT: Daily COVID-19 Updates


Disclaimer: Heavy Inc. has affiliate relationships with various streaming content providers and may receive a commission if you sign up for a service via a link on this page.