Who Was Nominated for the NFL Hall of Fame?

Brett Favre, NFL Hall of FAme

After he was honored by the Green Bay Packers earlier this year, Brett Favre may be Hall of Fame bound. (Getty)

It’s another step to a gold jacket.

The NFL announced on Thursday evening the 15 modern-era finalists and two senior finalists for the 2016 Hall of Fame Class. The group was determined by a vote of the Hall’s Selection committee from a list of the 108 nominees that was reduced to 25 semifinalists earlier this year.

The group also includes three first-year eligible nominees. The finalists will be selected by the Hall’s Selection Committee, which meets in San Francisco the day before Super Bowl 50.

Here’s who has made the cut:


Morten Anderson, Kicker: New Orleans Saints (1982-1994); Atlanta Falcons (1995-200, 2006-07); New York Giants (2001); Kansas City Chiefs ( 2002-03); Minnesota Vikings (2004)

Steve Atwater, Safety: Denver Broncos (1989-1998); New York Jets (1999)

Dan Coryell, Coach: St. Louis Cardinals (1973-77); San Diego Chargers (1978-86)

Terrell Davis, Running Back: Denver Broncos (1995-2001)

Tony Dungy, Coach: Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1996-2001); Indianapolis Colts (2002-08)

Alan Faneca, Guard: Pittsburgh Steelers (1998-2007); New York Jets (2008-09); Arizona Cardinals (2010)

Brett Favre, Quarterback: Atlanta Falcons (1991); Green Bay Packers (1992-2007); New York Jets (2008); Minnesota Vikings (2009-10)

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End: Los Angeles Rams (1985-92); Pittsburgh Steelers (1993-95); San Francisco 49ers (1997) Carolina Panthers (1998-99)

Marvin Harrison, Wide Reciever: Indianapolis Colts (1996-2008)

Joe Jacoby, Tackle: Washington Redskins (1981-1993)

Edgerrin James, Running Back: Indianapolis Colts (1999-2005); Arizona Cardinals (2006-08); Seattle Seahawks (2009)

John Lynch, Free Safety: Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1993-2003); Denver Broncos (2004-07)

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver: San Francisco 49ers (1996-2003); Philadelphia Eagles (2004-05); Dallas Cowboys (2006-08); Buffalo Bills (2009); Cincinnati Bengals (2010)

Orlando Pace, Tackle: St. Louis Rams (1997-2008); Chicago Bears (2009)

Kurt Warner, Quarterback: St. Louis Rams (1998-2003); New York Giants (2004); Arizona Cardinals (2005-09)

Senior Finalists

Ken Stabler, Quarterback: Oakland Raiders (1970-79); Houston Oilers (1980-81); New Orleans Saints (1982-84)

Dick Stanfel, Guard: Detroit Lions (1952-55); Washington Redskins (1956-58)

Read More
Comment Here
Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments