Jordan Henderson Named Liverpool Captain: List of All Liverpool Captains

After 10 years with Steven Gerrard as the captain of Liverpool, the Reds will have midfielder Jordan Henderson wear the armband full-time. (Getty)

After 10 years with Steven Gerrard as the captain of Liverpool, the Reds will have midfielder Jordan Henderson wear the armband full-time. (Getty)

After Steven Gerrard ended the longest run as Liverpool captain in history, Jordan Henderson was named Liverpool’s 40th captain since 1892 on July 10, 2015. Henderson has scored 20 goals for Liverpool and created 31 assists in his 186 games since 2011-2012. Henderson transfered to Liverpool from his boyhood club Sunderland on June 9, 2011 and has been the vice-captain over the past couple season. The England international has only played for Liverpool and Sunderland, but was loaned to Coventry City for the second half of the 2008-2009 season. In April 2015, there was talk that Henderson would transfer to Chelsea, as he was out of contract with Liverpool, but on April 23, 2015, he signed a new five-year contract with Liverpool.

Liverpool will open their season on August 9, 2015 against Stoke.

Read below for a list of each Liverpool captain, from Hannah to Henderson:

1892-1895: Andrew Hannah
1895-1897: Jimmy Ross
1897-1898: John McCartney
1898-1899: Harry Storer
1899-1900: Billy Dunlop
1900-1909: Alex Raisbeck
1909-1912: Arthur Goddard
1912-1913: Ephraim Longworth
1913-1915: Harry Lowe
1919-1920: Ephraim Longworth / Don Mackinlay
1920-1922: Ephraim Longworth
1922-1928: Don Mackinlay
1928-1929: Tom Bromilow
1929-1931: James Jackson
1931-1934: Tom Bradshaw
1934-1935: Ernie Blenkinsop / Tom Cooper
1935-1936: Ernie Blenkinsop
1936-1937: Ernie Blenkinsop / Tom Cooper
1937-1939: Tom Cooper
1939-1940: Matt Busby
1945-1947: Willie Fagan
1947-1950: Jack Balmer
1950-1953: Phil Taylor
1953-1954: Bill Jones
1954-1955: Laurie Hughes
1955-1958: Billy Liddell
1958-1959: Johnny Wheeler
1959-1960: Ronnie Moran
1960-1961: Dick White
1961-1970: Ron Yeats
1970-1973: Tommy Smith
1973-1979: Emlyn Hughes
1978-1978: Kenny Dalglish
1979-1981: Phil Thompson
1982-1984: Graeme Souness
1984-1985: Phil Neal
1985-1988: Alan Hansen
1988-1989: Ronnie Whelan
1989-1990: Alan Hansen
1990-1991: Ronnie Whelan / Steve Nicol
1991-1993: Mark Wright
1993-1996: Ian Rush
1996-1997: John Barnes
1997-1999: Paul Ince
1999-2002: Jamie Redknapp
2000-2001: Sami Hyypia / Robbie Fowler
2002-2003: Sami Hyypia
2003-2015: Steven Gerrard
2015-: Jordan Henderson

Editor’s note: Are you playing daily fantasy yet? Heavy’s partners at DraftKings are paying out $1 billion to daily fantasy players. Sign up with DraftKings promo code HEAVY and get a $600 deposit bonus with no season-long commitment.

Comment Here
Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x