Who Won The Players Championship 2016?

who won the players championship 2016 winner

Jason Day won the 2016 Players Championship. (Getty)

TPC Sawgrass didn’t stand a chance against Jason Day.

Neither did the rest of the field.

The world’s No. 1-ranked golfer pulled off the wire-to-wire victory at The Players Championship, often referred to as the “fifth major.” It is Day’s first Players title.

Day finished at 15-under par 273, four shots ahead of Kevin Chappell (11-under 277).

With caddie and mentor Colin Swatton on the bag, Day opened with a bang, tying the course record in the first round with a 9-under 63. Then with a 66 in the second round, Day set the 36-hole record at the Players.

Saturday’s third round conditions were brutal and saw Day shoot 1-over 73, but he came into Sunday’s final round with a 4-stroke lead over Hideki Matsuyama, Ken Duke, and Alex Cejka.

During Sunday’s final round, Day started off slowly with a 2-over front 9, but regained his form and birdied two of the first three holes on the back. From there, he was never really threatened.

With the victory, Day collected the winner’s share of $1.89 million of $10.8M total purse.

And with his 10th career PGA win, Day will undoubtedly extend his lead over Jordan Spieth in the Official World Golf Rankings.

Read More
Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x