Republican National Convention 2016 Schedule & List of Speakers

Donald Trump press conference, Donald Trump Trump Tower, Donald Trump new york speech

Donald Trump holds a press conference at Trump Tower in New York. (Getty)

Eight days have passed since the Donald Trump campaign promised to release its list of speakers for the 2016 Republican National Convention. And while Trump still has not done so, The New York Times has obtained a partial copy of the schedule, and RNC CEO Jeff Larson later announced a preliminary list.

The convention will be held from July 18th to July 21st in Cleveland, Ohio. Here is the incomplete schedule and list of speakers, based on the Times’ reporting and a subsequent schedule released by the RNC.

July 18th:

  • Jamiel Shaw Sr, whose son was killed by an undocumented immigrant and who supports stronger border control
  • Senator Tom Cotton
  • Rudy Giuliani
  • Melania Trump
  • Joni Ernst
  • Retired Lieutenant General Michael Flynn
  • Jason Beardsley
  • Ryan Zinke

July 19th: 

  • Dana White, president of the UFC
  • Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson
  • Former Attorney General Michael Mukasey
  • Senator Mitch McConnell
  • Tiffany Trump
  • Donald Trump Jr.
  • Governor Scott Walker
  • Kerry Woolard
  • Ben Carson
  • Shelley Moore Capito
  • Kimberlin Brown

July 20th:

  • Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi
  • Lynne Patton
  • Eileen Collins, retired astronaut and first female commander of a space shuttle mission
  • Newt Gingrich
  • Senator Ted Cruz
  • Eric Trump
  • Natalie Gulbis, a professional golfer
  • Mike Pence

July 21st:

  • Tim Tebow
  • Representative Marsha Blackburn
  • RNC Chairman Reince Priebus
  • Florida Governor Rick Scott
  • Billionaire and hedge fund manager Peter Thiel
  • Thomas J. Barrack Jr., real estate investor
  • Ivanka Trump
  • Donald Trump

And via ABC News, here are the additional names left off the Times list as confirmed by RNC CEO Jeff Larson. None of these names have been attached to any specific dates.

  • Pastor Mark Burns
  • Phil Ruffin
  • Congressman Ryan Zinke
  • Pat Smith
  • Mark Geist
  • John Tiegn
  • Congressman Michael McCaul
  • Sheriff David Clarke
  • Congressman Sean Duffy
  • Darryl Glenn
  • Karen Vaughn
  • Governor Mike Huckabee
  • Kathryn Gates-Skipper
  • Marcus Luttrell
  • Attorney General Leslie Rutledge
  • Andy Wist
  • Senator Jeff Sessions
  • Alex Smith
  • Paul Ryan
  • Congressman Kevin McCarthy
  • Kerry Woolard
  • Senator Shelley Moore Capito
  • Ben Carson
  • Co-Chair Sharon Day
  • Natalie Gulbis
  • Kimberlin Brown
  • Antonio Sabato Jr.
  • Michelle Van Etten
  • Lynne Patton
  • Harold Hamm
  • Congressman Chris Collins
  • Brock Mealer
  • Darrell Scott
  • Lisa Shin
  • Jerry Falwell Jr.
  • Rabbi Haskel Lookstein
  • Chris Cox
  • Chris Christie

MaYou may notice a few rather prominent names absent from the list, including former presidential candidate Mitt Romney. That’s because the Massachusetts governor, who is still in the “Never Trump” camp, said in May that he would be skipping the event due to his opposition to his party’s nominee.

Also not attending are former presidents George H.W. Bush and George W. Bush. A spokesperson for the 43rd president said that Bush did not intend to comment on the presidential race whatsoever, according to The Hill.

The list of those who previously said they will not attend the convention include John McCain, John Kasich, Jeb Bush, Nikki Haley, Rob Portman, Condoleezza Rice, Dick Cheney, Laura Bush, Mark Kirk, Tom Coburn, Bobby Jindal and Lindsey Graham.

Many of those politicians have said they won’t support Donald Trump in the general election, including Lindsey Graham, who last month encouraged his fellow Republicans to rescind their endorsement of the candidate. The list of non-speakers also includes people like Nikki Haley, who have stated that they will vote for Trump in order to defeat Hillary Clinton but who are clearly reluctant to fully get behind him.

It’s also worth noting that names that are on the list, such as Newt Gingrich, Michael Flynn, and Chris Christie. The fact that they are included Mike Pence is not suggests that he may be Trump’s final choice for VP.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x